Awards, Prizes, Honours

1978 Open Exhibition, Balliol College, Oxford

1980 Open Scholarship, [Mouat-Jones Scholar] Balliol College, Oxford

1982 Prosser Prize, Balliol College, Oxford

1997 Bellman Prize for best paper published in Mathematical Biosciences 1994-96 (paper [44])

2001-2002 Royal Society Leverhulme Trust Senior Research Fellowship

2002 Elected Life Membership, Clare Hall, Cambridge

2002 Distinguished Foreign Visiting Fellow, Hokkaido University, Sapporo, Japan (Sept-Oct)

2003 Elected Fellow of the Institute of Mathematics and its Applications (IMA)

2005 Elected Honorary Guest Professor, University of Electronic Science and Technology of China, Chengdu, China

2006-09 Adjunct Professor, School of Mathematical Sciences, Queensland University of Technology, Brisbane

2006-10: ARC Federation Fellowship, Univ of Sydney [not taken up]

2006-11 Royal Society-Wolfson Research Merit Award

2008 Tewkesbury Bequest International Visitor, Univ of Melbourne (Nov-Dec)

2009 LMS Naylor Prize

2010 Appointed Distinguished Research Fellow, African Institute for Mathematical Sciences (AIMS), South Africa

2010-12 Adjunct Professor, Lincoln University, Christchurch, New Zealand

2011 Elected, Corresponding Member, Academia Mexicana

2011-14 Appointed Adjunct Professor, School of Mathematical Sciences, Queensland University of Technology, Brisbane (reappointed 2014-17)

2011 Edward L. Reiss Memorial Lecturer, Northwestern University

2012 Walker Ames Guest Scholar, University of Washington, Seattle

2012 Elected SIAM Fellow

2013 Offered Adjunct Professor under the Distinguished Scientists Program, King Abdulaziz University (KAU), Jeddah, Saudi Arabia (not accepted)

2013 Elected Fellow of the Society of Biology (FSB)

2013 MPLS Teaching Award: Individual Award (Oxford)

2014 ISI Web of Knowledge High Cited Researcher (top 1% of researchers 2002-14)

2014 Listed in "The World's Most InFluential Scentific Minds 2014" (Thomson Reuters)

2015 Inaugural International Visitor, Mohali Node of National Network for Mathematical and Computational Biology (NNMCB) [funded by the Science and Engineering Research Board (SERB), Government of India], Mohali, India (March 28- April 23)

2015 Elected Fellow of the Royal Society (FRS)

2016 Ziwet Lecturer, Department of Mathematics, University of Michigan

2016 Distinguished Ordway Lecturer, School of Mathematics, University of Minnesota

2017 SMB Arthur T. Winfree Prize

2017 Inaugural Fellow of the Society of Mathematical Biology